where to go?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
laweagle

where to go?

Postby laweagle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:15 pm

My letters of acceptance/rejection are still coming in. My undergraduate GPA 3.45 (institutional 3.75). I am a non traditional student who went back to college with the intention of going to law school 2.5 years ago. I graduate this summer. My LSAT 140 first try no studying 150 second try studied for one month with Blueprint. I have been accepted at Mercer, Loyola New Orleans and Charlotte. Charlotte has offered 25k per year scholarship with an additional 5k first year leadership scholarship. Mercer said they would run my application through the scholarship pool next week. I have not called Loyola yet to see if there is any scholarship money available there. All three schools cost 38k per year to attend. I live in Georgia and have been a paralegal here for the past 12 years. I would like to eventually become licensed in GA, NC and SC. My goal is to open up my own practice somewhere on the coast.

Ti Malice

Re: where to go?

Postby Ti Malice » Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:02 pm

Everyone here is going to tell you that you should retake (only after studying for far longer than a month) or not go to law school. Assuming you plan to eat and live indoors, all of them will cost more than $38K per year to attend. Employment outcomes do not justify the expense at any of them.

All are bad, but for-profit shithole Charlotte is one of the very worst law schools in the country. A maximum of only 35% of 2012 grads have found FT/LT JD-required work (the actual percentage is likely significantly lower, since few grads reported data). No doubt your scholarship comes with onerous stips that will make it difficult to retain.

WisemanAEKDB

Postby WisemanAEKDB » Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:09 pm

If you improved 10 points in one month, think about what another 2 to 3 months of studying would do for you... Wonders... You won't regret it.