Undergraduate wanting to apply to law school in England

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
yahiyasaad

Undergraduate wanting to apply to law school in England

Postby yahiyasaad » Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:14 am

Greetings,

I am a first-year undergraduate at the University of Virginia, and while looking at prospective law schools I'd want to attend I couldn't help but squirm in my chair at the overwhelming price. I do not want a lot of debt, and I see debt as a form of slavery. After going through several websites, one had suggested something interesting: It is cheaper to go to law school in England, and when you come back 27 states will still acknowledge that degree as valid.

I did further research. It turns out that Law is obtained as an LLB, an equivalent to a bachelor's here. They do have LLMs, which are like Masters degrees of law, but I was wondering if an LLB was a necessary prerequisite for an LLM, or whether I could get my degree here at UVa and then apply for an LLM in Oxford or Cambridge, among other places.

If anyone were so kind as to shine light on this situation, it would be very much appreciated.

Thank you so much!

guano

Re: Undergraduate wanting to apply to law school in England

Postby guano » Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:19 am

Do you already have a job lined up (through close family)?
Where do you want to practice?

Going that route will seriously impact your job prospects, so unless you have a clearly defined plan, it's probably a bad idea

twenty

Postby twenty » Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:21 am

Nah, you have to get the LLB if you want to do the LLM in the UK (or anywhere in Europe, actually). At that point, you're doing 5 years of post-grad school to get a degree only recognized in half the states as eligible for the bar, and has placement power on par with a T20 school. Also, unless you're a UK national, good luck getting financing for either degree.