Could UNC get me back to Texas? Hold out for Wake?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
SouthernSoul

Could UNC get me back to Texas? Hold out for Wake?

Postby SouthernSoul » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:26 pm

I'm seriously considering attending UNC in the fall. I'm currently a Texas resident, but spent a close to half of my life in North Carolina so I consider it home too and would be open to working in either state. Unfortunately, I was rejected at UT-Austin and WL-ed at Wake Forest. I have yet to hear from SMU. UNC is looking like a great choice for me.

Biglaw would be nice, federal gov work (HUD, especially) would be nice too I think, but I'd also be cool and comfortable doing civil work in a District/City Attorney's office. As far as my first job out of law school I'm open to living in Dallas, Charlotte, Austin, Raleigh-Durham area, Atlanta or DC.

I'm cool beginning a career in North Carolina, but if I ever wanted to move back to Texas, could a degree from UNC carry me that far?
Also, since I'm considering the possible portability of my degree, should I just hold out for Wake Forest in case I get in off the WL?

shifty_eyed

Re: Could UNC get me back to Texas? Hold out for Wake?

Postby shifty_eyed » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:31 pm

I read your previous posts, and it seems like you have taken the LSAT 3 times already, so I won't scream RETAKE. Also, your GPA is really what is holding you back, and nothing you can do about that now.

UNC to Texas may be a long shot, but I imagine after a few years of working in NC, you could move to TX. (This could be 0L optimism though, I have nothing to base this on).

UNC at in-state w/ NC ties is not a bad option with your stats, especially if you are dead set on law school.

rebexness

Postby rebexness » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:37 pm

shifty_eyed wrote:UNC to Texas may be a long shot, but I imagine after a few years of working in NC, you could move to TX. (This could be 0L optimism though, I have nothing to base this on).