Is Drake Law School Worth It?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Brixton

Is Drake Law School Worth It?

Postby Brixton » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:47 am

Hi All,
I was always planning on applying to law school, but this winter I lost my job due to cutbacks and it abruptly moved my application plans up. Since I was caught off guard I only applied to one school this year, Drake. Well, last week I got an acceptance in the mail with a 75% scholarship with the stipulation that I need to stay in the top 1/3 of class. I had studied for the LSAT for a few weeks and got a 160 then applied this winter and a few years back I graduated with a respectable GPA around 3.8.

I'm convinced I could get a higher LSAT with more study (TLS has convinced me of that) so I'm wondering if it is worth it to attend this year or put off school and apply next time around with a higher LSAT and that GPA to "better" schools.

Additional context: I'm not planning on living and practicing in Iowa. I'd like to move to Texas, Colorado, or Virginia after gaining a law degree. I'm just afraid that attending Drake, while not making it impossible to get a great legal job, would make my career a constant David v. Goliath fight. I've been struggling with this decision and finally decided to ask those of you who might have greater insight.

Benjamin1987

Re: Is Drake Law School Worth It?

Postby Benjamin1987 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:50 am

Sounds like you've read enough of this site to know what the response to that question will be. The answer is always the same.

North

Postby North » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:51 am

Brixton wrote:Hi All,