Joint Degrees Involved! (Columbia, Cal$, Duke$$$, Chicago$$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Best option?

Berkeley (J.D. only) - 3 years, ~$16,830 (estimated fee remission)
4%
Berkeley (J.D. + M.Eng. Bioengineering) - 3 years + 1 year, ~$16,830 + $16,000 (estimated fee remission + M.Eng. Grant)
57%
Duke (J.D./M.S. Biomedical Engineering) - 3 years + 1 summer, $78,000
13%
Columbia (J.D. only) - 3 years
13%
Chicago (J.D./PhD Health Studies - Biostatistics assuming accepted) - 3 years + 3 years, $45,000 (PhD is fully funded)
13%

Total votes: 23

Vincent

Joint Degrees Involved! (Columbia, Cal$, Duke$$$, Chicago$$)

Postby Vincent » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:43 pm

Goals:
- Career in California, preferably San Francisco Bay Area (SF, Silicon Valley).
- (Possibly) IP work. Litigation or patent writing. My background is statistics/biosciences, but if I could break into more general technology, that'd be great.
- A job.
- Down the line: In-house counsel
- Further down the line: policy work?
- Way further down the line (think decades): Academia?

Why is (???) attractive/not attractive?
- Berkeley Law
Good: #1 in IP rankings - strong in IP + technology. Undergraduate work here = existing connections with professors and students, placement into CA (60%+ according to LST). Virtually guaranteed opportunity to GSI/TA, which means a graduate tuition remission every semester you do it (graduate tuition is currently $5,610). I probably would be able to GSI all through law school, but I'm underbudgeting right now. Smaller school. "Chillest" student body, in terms of competition, supposedly. Close to home - I've grown up in the Bay Area, and I can take care of family. Nice grading system. Lastly, weather.
Bad: Lower ranking, another "Berkeley" degree (as opposed to diversification), worse employment numbers (than the two CLS's). Also, Cal Football/Basketball.

- Berkeley Masters of Engineering in Bioengineering