Have Hamilton/Ruby. Should I go to law school?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What should I do?

Take Hamilton/Ruby and attend law school.
46%
Stay in current industry.
54%

Total votes: 63

CrazyBull2013

Have Hamilton/Ruby. Should I go to law school?

Postby CrazyBull2013 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:47 pm

Hey there TLS! I'm having trouble making this decision on my own and was hoping for some advice. I am a recent college graduate fortunate enough to receive a Hamilton/Ruby full-tuition scholarship offer at Columbia/Chicago. Attending law school has always been my plan since high school, but after browsing these forums (particularly this recent thread) and speaking with some practicing attorneys, I'm starting to second guess becoming a lawyer.

I have a few job offers in my industry (which I have really enjoyed so far) centered around $60k. If i went this route, I know I could get raises quickly due to guaranteed salary increases for passing exams. If I became a lawyer, I anticipate working in biglaw for as little time as possible before moving in-house. Thus, I would see my pre-tax income, without bonuses, looking something like the following:

Year 1: Current Industry $60,000; Law $0
Year 2: Current Industry $70,000; Law $0
Year 3: Current Industry $75,000; Law $0
Year 4: Current Industry $80,000; Law $160,000
Year 5: Current Industry $85,000; Law $170,000
Year 6: Current Industry $90,000; Law $185,000
Year 7: Current Industry $95,000; Law $???

Over a 6 year span, I would make $55,000 more in law before taxes, and I assume the discrepancy would be lower after taxes. A big question mark here is what I would make as a lawyer after leaving a firm.