Opinions on choosing a school...

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
miller7353

Opinions on choosing a school...

Postby miller7353 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:09 pm

Background: Hispanic female living in NJ, 3.95 GPA from small private Midwestern university, LSAT taken once and got a 161. Interest in international or human rights law.

Accepted to:
Brooklyn with 41k scholarship (9k tuition with top 80% stip)
Seton Hall with 36k scholarship (12k tuition with 3.0 GPA stip)
Rutgers N with 12k scholarship (12k tuition with top 50% stip)

Going to Brooklyn would skyrocket my COL while staying in NJ keeps my COL very low and I could keep my PT job.

I'm very new to this scene and have already gotten a lot of less than positive feedback on my initial posts so I would appreciate sincere advice. I'm open to retaking but definitely prefer not. What's the best move for someone in my position wanting to do work in international or human rights law?

superbloom

Re: Opinions on choosing a school...

Postby superbloom » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:15 pm

Its unfortunate you didn't get more at SH or R-N. I got the same scholarships with worse numbers last year. Are you URM? All three will give you the same (not so great) chance at a job.

Unless you can coax substantially more from each school, retake.

timbs4339

Postby timbs4339 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:16 pm

Look, you're not going to get the advice you want to hear. I'm a lawyer and I'm telling you that jobs in international human rights law are almost non-existent. There are just very few people practicing it, you don't get into it out of law school, and aside from being extremely connected in the industry and in specific countries, having exceptional academic credentials (T10 would be a start), and having a lot of prior work experience, it's a pipe dream.