Thoughts on paying "sticker" @ T10 Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
zazoo

New

Thoughts on paying "sticker" @ T10

Post by zazoo » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:32 am

Would be curious about y'alls thoughts on my situation:

I've been working for 4 years in litigation consulting and have saved ~$100K to finance my law education. I currently make ~$100K a year and assume I could come back to this job after graduation. I am set on going to law school in NYC or the Bay Area (NYU or Boalt) so that my partner can get a job (and hopefully offset some COA).

Assuming I get no scholly money, am I right to think of my savings as a functional scholarship making the decision to pay "sticker" a low risk proposition even for the average TLSer (especially if I can count on my current job as a back-up plan). The plan is BigLaw, btw.

TheZoid

Bronze

Re: Thoughts on paying "sticker" @ T10

Post by TheZoid » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:44 am

I wouldn't say count it as a functional scholarship, but it's certainly less risky since your loan payments and overall debt load are lower if you miss the big law boat. Especially if your wife can pay for cost of living, I think you can justify sticker at a T10 in your situation.

vinnnyvincenzo

Bronze

Post by vinnnyvincenzo » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:46 am

Seems like a poor investment for you. You're gonna drop $250k for law school, not to mention the ~$300k you would have gotten if you had kept working for a coin flip chance that you get big law.

mdrunner165

New

Post by mdrunner165 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:49 am

What's the point of forgoing 3 years of $100,000 income to attend a school at sticker where your prospects of a job are uncertain.

Stick with job unless you get a full ride. <--- this even may be risky....

TheZoid

Bronze

Post by TheZoid » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:52 am