Help me weigh these options...again

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Best bet given my circumstances (parenthetical values are student loan balance at repaymet):

Columbia ($242,469)
1%
Chicago ($80,256)
47%
NYU ($128,033)
5%
UVA ($20,870)
39%
Michigan ($14,850)
7%

Total votes: 74

elterrible78

Help me weigh these options...again

Postby elterrible78 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:13 am

TL;DR: I'm a non-traditional student interested in clerking and biglaw in Miami.

Hey everyone. I did a thread like this when I just had offers from UVA and Michigan, but things have gotten a little more complicated by then. I could have waited until I had all my decisions in to start a new thread, but since some schools are moving at a sub-glacial pace (under review at Penn since 11-20, e.g.), I thought it wouldn't be a bad time to get opinions now. I really want to be able to make a decision and know what is going on with my life.

Things to consider: I'm 34 years old and married. I grew up in northeast, went to grad school in the southwest, and currently live in the DC area (have been here only about six months though, and will be moving to Miami for the summer). Aside from DC, none of the places I have "ties" to have legal markets to speak of. My wife is Brazilian, and her entire family is going to be moving to Miami in the next year, so we really want to end up there as well. She herself is going to live in Miami while I am in school. I plan on doing whatever I can 1L year to work in Miami, even if it means taking an unpaid position somewhere, just to further establish ties to that market. I am hoping those things will be enough to establish the fact that I certainly DO want to be in Miami, but I'd definitely appreciate input on this. I realize the Miami market is a tough nut to crack, but I'm hoping my MA in Latin American Studies and fluency in Spanish (and "rising" fluency in Portuguese) will help.