Cornell (150K) v Virginia (60K) v NYU (40/5K)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
smashingrobface

Cornell (150K) v Virginia (60K) v NYU (40/5K)

Postby smashingrobface » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:26 am

Hey crew.

I'm in right now at Cornell, UVA, and NYU, waiting on Northwestern and Chicago, and riding waitlists at Harvard, Columbia, Duke, and Penn.

If by some miracle Harvard comes calling, I'll be there. I'd have to consider Columbia, too. I don't want to count on either, though, so any advice on choosing between the following would be much appreciated:

$150,000 at Cornell
$60,000 at UVA
$40,000 (45K if public interest, which I probably will) at NYU

I'd like to work in criminal law, and as a current NYC resident I'd be quite happy settling in here after law school. I'm from the Southeast, however, and living in the city has made me appreciate the South's slower pace and cheaper COL, so despite my reservations about UVA's school-funded job rate, I'm still considering them (anyone have a rough estimate of the COL savings of UVA vs NYU? Maybe $15K total over three years?).

Obviously, Cornell makes the most financial sense. UVA offers what seems like the strongest possibility of working in the Southeast. NYU's sweet LRAP and strong public interest reputation make it a contender.

I sent UVA and NYU negotiation letters. I'm not expecting anything from the latter, and maybe just a modest bump from Virginia if anything.

Help?

usfvictor

Re: Cornell (150K) v Virginia (60K) v NYU (40/5K)

Postby usfvictor » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:50 am

If UVA doesn't match, take Cornell and run. Even if Harvard comes calling, Cornell at what I'm assuming is a full ride is a better choice IMO given your career goals.

RhymesLikeDimes

Postby RhymesLikeDimes » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:55 am