BC/BU vs U Mich/Northwestern for Boston Hard-IP

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

BC/BU vs. U. Mich/Northwestern for Boston hard-IP

BC/BU
54%
U. Mich/Northwestern
46%

Total votes: 28

IPman00

BC/BU vs U Mich/Northwestern for Boston Hard-IP

Postby IPman00 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:59 pm

Not going to waste people's time, yet, with gritty details, but here are the specs:

I was an EE undergrad, a couple years EE experience under my belt, looking to start with hard-IP in Boston at biglaw (would like both prosecution and litigation experience) and then transfer in-house in Greater Boston suburbs after a few years.

What's better, BC/BU or U Mich/Northwestern? Why? What factors should I be considering?

My naive thoughts:
BC/BU ranked (much) lower, but it seems like they saturate the Boston market. I went to websites of the largest firms in Boston that have large patent staff (see link below), and tallied where the firms do OCI. Got ~7 for U. Michigan, ~9 for Northwestern, 21 for BC, and 21 for BU, OUT OF 21 FIRMS!

So, what good is U. Michigan's/Northwestern's high rank going to do me if most of these Boston firms never even set foot on their campus? I understand that I can be lower ranked in my class and get into biglaw from higher ranked school, but still, if there's no OCI, what good does that do me?

http://www.averyindex.com/patent_city_f ... ston&st=MA

Just in case it matters: my LSAT is ~25%tile of U. Mich and Northwestern, and ~60%tile for BC/BU.

Thanks all!

EDIT
I would expect to get about 1 year of tuition from BC/BU, and nothing from U. Mich/Northwestern (as my LSAT would suggest).

I am not URM.

I would be willing to leave Boston if necessary, but would greatly prefer Boston. To me, my understanding of the "best law school for me" is the school that gives me the biggest chances of working where I want. In this case, Boston.

EDIT2