Battle of all the VA schools (and Wake)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mvredd

Battle of all the VA schools (and Wake)

Postby mvredd » Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:30 pm

Hey guys! So I'm a VA resident and I've gotten into the following schools (aid per year in parenthesis):

-UVA (no aid)
-William and Mary (20,000)
-Washington and Lee (30,000)
-Wake Forest (35,000)
U of R (30,000)

So money is important for me, so is doing well. Wake and WM are neck and neck for most affordable.
WL is literally in the middle of nowhere. Not sure I want to spend my time in ANOTHER tiny town. I'd like to experience something a little bigger than Lexington.
Clearly, UVA is the most prestigious and the only one to really have national reach.
I've been to Richmond five or six times, and I'm not really a fan (nor is my husband). Their package also seemed sort of stingy when compared to the offers from the other schools.
Wake is tempting because I know the area well.

I'm worried about three things, really: 1) debt load for obvious reasons, 2) going to a school (mainly UVA) and not performing well. I know there's a correlation between LSAT and law school performance. With all that debt, I need to land top 20% if I ever hope to even think about paying of those loans, and 3) at the same time, I went to undergrad based on scholarships, and while I don't regret my time, it isn't really challenging most of the time. I think I'd like to have more challenge.

Shmoopy

Re: Battle of all the VA schools (and Wake)

Postby Shmoopy » Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:37 pm

I don't think the challenge part matters. You will more or less be reading the same books and taking the same exams at all these schools.

Otherwise, I think where you want to work is important. I don't know much about either the VA or NC markets, but I imagine you'd most likely be stuck in state at any of these schools except for UVA.

somewhatwayward

Postby somewhatwayward » Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:38 pm