GSU or Miami

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
wordnerd725

GSU or Miami

Postby wordnerd725 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:47 pm

I have in-state tuition at GSU, so money-wise GSU is a no brainer. Immediate family and friends are also here.
However, Miami is drawing me with the weather and alluring prospects of a more mobile degree. 42% of the students are out of state and, I also spoke with a 1L there who confirmed that obtaining employment outside of Florida is not an unreasonable expectation. Miami was also ranked in the top 20 law schools for super lawyers: can anyone comment on that?

And to stave off sarcastic comments: I expect to work in Atlanta or Miami for at least five years after law school and would be happy to live in either place. I expect to graduate and get a job that pays $30 or $40 a yr (of course hoping for more). I understand that I may not even obtain employment in the legal field. I graduated from UGA and do not want to go back there for law school. Whatever the rankings say, it is more convenient for me to live in a big city.

Basically I want the option to live and work outside of the southeast in the next 10-15 even 20 years. I have networking opportunities in DC and Philly. I know that law degrees are not super mobile in general, but I want to know which school has a better reputation.

empyreanrrv

Re: GSU or Miami

Postby empyreanrrv » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:14 pm

I'm not sure if it is due to self-selection or because they can't get hired anywhere else, but people that go to Miami overwhelmingly decide to stay in Miami. It may be possible to leave, but there hasn't really been much of a precedent of it happening. http://www.lstscorereports.com/?school= ... b=location

What is the total COA of both choices?