Why is Minnesota emailing / sending me pamphlets?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
bchirco

Why is Minnesota emailing / sending me pamphlets?

Postby bchirco » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:28 pm

Hey All,

I have been INCREDIBLY puzzled lately. First off, I have horrible numbers - 3.1x/15x type of numbers :(. I've come to terms of no hope at a good cycle so I'm studying and planning on retaking in June. However, Minnesota keeps sending me emails and today I just got a very nice pamphlet from them regarding "experiencing MN Law." I am a Non-URM but I am a non-traditional, which from my understanding doesn't mean much. So I was wondering, do they send these out to EVERYONE or should I take the shot and apply?

Ti Malice

Re: Why is Minnesota emailing / sending me pamphlets?

Postby Ti Malice » Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:31 pm

They want to lower their acceptance rate in order to earn a higher ranking in USNWR. They're asking you and many others to apply so that they can reject you. It's common practice with law schools.

nickb285

Postby nickb285 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:49 pm

^This. Same reason Columbia sent me a fee waiver for my 169, 3.17.

Ramius

Postby Ramius » Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:52 pm

nickb285 wrote:^This. Same reason Columbia sent me a fee waiver for my 169, 3.17.

Amen, yet I still fell for it. I figured, if the lottery at $500 million is worth the shot, why not this?

bchirco

Postby bchirco » Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:52 am

Yeah, that's what I figured. I'm going to apply anyway. What can it hurt right? Isaw some people with similar number that got in off the waitlist. Although to be honest, it's a shitty practice and an expensive one at that if they are sending those pamphlets out to everyone.

cahwc12

Postby cahwc12 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:07 am