American University Washington College of Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Paul Campos

American University Washington College of Law

Postby Paul Campos » Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:37 am

Yesterday I wrote a post http://insidethelawschoolscam.blogspot.com/2013/01/whats-americans-strategy.html on the question of how schools like American (very expensive, terrible employment numbers) were dealing with the rapidly shrinking applicant pool. I concluded that, based on the evidence from TLS, American at least wasn't going to cut real tuition (by offering bigger "scholarships," i.e., cross-subsidized discounts off sticker), but rather would do what it did last year, which was to slash admissions standards even further -- the median LSAT for last year's entering class went from 162 to 159, and this year's seems likely to be lower still. Someone purporting to be an admissions person at AU responded in the thread:

I am an admissions officer at American and can tell you that Professor Campos' post sets a new low for him. We continue to have many more qualified applicants than we have spaces for. Of course if we were really a scam we would just admit everyone to maximize our profits. But care about our students. So we routinely have had to turn away many great applicants simply because we know increasing class size would hurt the quality of education. Today, we are able to admit more of the great students who may have had a problem during college (perhaps their grades suffered because they had to take care of a sick relative) or who just aren't that talented at taking multiple choice tests. I for one welcome this development, I certainly don't enjoy rejecting applicants who have the potential to be great lawyers. And, I think many commentators on this board would agree that one's ability to fill in bubbles on a multiple choice test has little to do with one's potential as an attorney. As for the idea that American is in any trouble, this is ridiculous. We con