New Mexico Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
bchirco

New Mexico Law

Postby bchirco » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:22 pm

Hey all,

I was wondering what everyone's thoughts on UNM law were. I love the area and you just can't beat that awesome environment NM offers! I was hoping to either practice in NM, Arizona, Colorado, or Cali. I understand that my chances in Cali are non-existent with UNM however, I wouldn't mind practicing in NM for a few years and then transferring to cali once I got some experience under my belt. I would only have to pay half tuition at NM so I thought it made sense. I wanted to get some input however.

Thanks!

BeautifulSW

Re: New Mexico Law

Postby BeautifulSW » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:53 pm

I graduated from UNM Law in 1986 and have made my career largely working for the State of New Mexico in various legal capacities.

UNM Law is a lot more expensive than it was when I went but it still runs about one-third the tuition of most other schools (in-state). However, it's hard to get in unless you are a New Mexico resident AND have significant ties to the state so keep that in mind.

New Mexico is not over-lawyered outside of Santa Fe and maybe Albuquerque and work is available to the patient even in those cities. A UNM degree sells well in the State but I think you will find that it doesn't carry much weight in neighboring states. If you want Colorado, UC Boulder is a better bet. Likewise UA and ASU in Arizona. Possible exception is El Paso, Texas ( a VERY cool city in my opinion but that's a matter of taste.) New Mexico law salaries are lower, maybe much lower, than you would expect elsewhere for similar work. Don't come here with a J.D. from somewhere else and $140,000 in student loans and expect to prosper unless you get in with the federal government. (Well, or if one of the IBR-type plans applies to you I guess).

Cost of living is about the national average, higher in more desirable places, lower in the more rural areas.