YLS or HLS - Interested in Corporate Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
burgergirl

New

YLS or HLS - Interested in Corporate Law

Post by burgergirl » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:23 pm

Hi folks,

I've been incredibly lucky this cycle. I'm currently trying to decide between HLS, YLS and SLS. I know this topic has been discussed before but I would appreciate any fresh thoughts. My criteria are as follows:

1. I'm interested in corporate law and am debating whether to pursue litigation or transactional work
2. I'm interested in getting a federal clerkship
3. I would like to be on the law journal and get as much practical experience as possible
4. Given my background, I may end up working overseas at some point
5. I'm a Y undergrad so I'm a bit hesitant to go back to the same place for law school
6. I'm not too concerned about competition but a friendly, non-cliquey environment would be a big plus

Thanks in advance for your input and good luck to everyone still waiting to hear back!

latetolunch

New

Re: YLS or HLS - Interested in Corporate Law

Post by latetolunch » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:42 pm

Stanford is the only one that fits all of your criteria...congrats

Elston Gunn

Gold

Post by Elston Gunn » Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:07 pm

burgergirl wrote:Hi folks,

I've been incredibly lucky this cycle. I'm currently trying to decide between HLS, YLS and SLS. I know this topic has been discussed before but I would appreciate any fresh thoughts. My criteria are as follows:

1. I'm interested in corporate law and am debating whether to pursue litigation or transactional work
Don't let this dissuade you at all from Yale, unless you want to be taking *a lot* of specialized classes in corporate law. The vast majority of people here want to be litigators, but that just means you stand out more if you want transactional and can signal that in some way with your resume.