International Law Career and School Choice

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Daalsz35

International Law Career and School Choice

Postby Daalsz35 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:36 pm

Hello all,

I've been a browser on the TLS website for awhile. I applied to law school this autumn for admission in autumn of 2013, have gotten most of my acceptances and rejections back, and am going to be having some tough decisions to make.

My background:
- Graduated from Ohio Sate University this august with BA's in economics and German
- I can read, write, and speak German competently, I studied there for 6 months and passed a standardized language examination - Goethe Institute test "Business German", level B2
- I interned with the foreign service, working in the political-economic section of one of the consulates in Germany (prefer not to name which)
- I am currently working as a barback but am trying to find work as an entry level legal secretary/paralegal/legal assistant - simply looks better on a resume and would probably help when it comes to getting law student type internships, summer associate positions, etc.

My Priorities:
- I wish to pursue a career practicing international transactional law in the private sector. I think that my experience studying and working abroad, and my ability to speak a foreign language help with this.
- I want to go to law school for as cheaply as I can (obviously). Money is more of an issue for me than it might be for others, my parents helped me pay for undergrad but paying for law school I am 100% on my own