How important is location?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mh33

How important is location?

Postby mh33 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:14 am

I was reading Paul Campos' blog "inside the law school scam," as I'm sure many of you do, and he mentioned this anecdote from another professor in his most recent post:

"As a professor, I often talk with applicants about how to realize their life goals. I recall one student in particular, who was attempting to choose between Vanderbilt and the school at which I teach—Loyola Los Angeles. His ambition was to become a big-firm partner in Los Angeles. As students often do, he chose the higher U.S. News & World Report-ranked school. When he graduated from Vanderbilt, he was unable even to get an interview in Los Angeles. Had he attended Loyola, his paper credentials and performance at Vanderbilt suggest that he would have graduated near the top of his class. If he had, his chances of getting an offer from a large Los Angeles firm would have been quite high. Again, based on the results of the study reported in this article, I can explain why. Hiring by national law firms is astonishingly local. There are very few truly national law schools. Vanderbilt is not an established LA feeder school. Loyola is."