Convince local T1 I'm not a flight risk?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
cslouisck

Convince local T1 I'm not a flight risk?

Postby cslouisck » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:45 pm

Here's the deal:
3.8/PBK
3 years out of undergrad with meaningful work experience
Denver resident

Any thoughts on the best way to convince the adcomms at CU that I'm truly interested in attending (and deserving of $$$), not just applying as a safety? My fiancee's open to moving for Berkeley or maybe NU/University of Chicago, but we'd both prefer to stay put if CU can make the financial end of things worthwhile. Anyone out there know the best way to convey that sentiment?

Thanks.

CanadianWolf

Re: Convince local T1 I'm not a flight risk?

Postby CanadianWolf » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:52 pm

As a Colorado resident, I doubt that you'll be viewed as a flight risk. Nevertheless, it doesn't matter because they only need your pre-1L numbers for USNews rankings as very few transfer out of CU-Boulder after the first year (probably because attending CU is more of a lifestyle choice than it is as a career launching choice). If you are viewed as a flight risk, you'll get waitlisted or denied scholarship money.

Where, geographically speaking, did you work during the last three years ?

P.S. You may, nonetheless, be asked to show proof of prior years' season ski-lift tickets to Vail, Steamboat Springs, Aspen or the like. :D A Killington pass may kill your chances, however.

P.P.S. A former admissions officer at CU-law started a thread yesterday (Sunday) on TLS. Look under Spivey or Mike Spivey or Spivey Consulting.

cslouisck

Postby cslouisck » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:03 pm

Great. Thanks much. I've been doing PR in Denver for the last couple years (and was a ski bum in Summit County, without any regret, prior to that), so I'd say I'm fairly attached to Colorado and all that it offers. Not really gunning for BigLaw, just a more interesting, challenging and satisfying career path,

CanadianWolf