Cooley Law questions Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Chosen one

New

Cooley Law questions

Post by Chosen one » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:04 pm

Hey I'm considering attending cooley law school with a 50% scholarship, which would have me owing about 55k, i don't currently have any undergrad debt or personal debt. I'm a Michigan resident currently working in the engineering field and I'm interested in the weekend program they offer because it fits around my schedule. My undergrad degree is a BS in Electrical Engineering and I have experience in the field of electrical engineering and computer science/IT. I am interested in becoming a patent attorney. I have been reading alot of articles recently about law school not being worth it for a lot of new applicants, considering my background do you think it would be worth while to take on this debt?

Thanks in advance

luthersloan

Bronze

Re: Cooley Law questions

Post by luthersloan » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:15 pm

No. You should not go to Cooley, not ever. No one should go to Cooley. If you really want to be a patent attorney retake the LSAT and go to a law school that is not trying to become the Walmart of legal education.

Unemployed Honors Grad, CCN.

lovelaw27

Bronze

Post by lovelaw27 » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:19 pm

Why do you want to be a patent attorney? With your background I'm thinking you should/are making more money now then you would after graduating from Cooley. In other words it would probably be a waste of time and money.

Chosen one

New

Post by Chosen one » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:27 pm

lovelaw27 wrote:Why do you want to be a patent attorney? With your background I'm thinking you should/are making more money now then you would after graduating from Cooley. In other words it would probably be a waste of time and money.