. Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
tigyrgrl

New

Post by tigyrgrl » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:13 pm

Last edited by tigyrgrl on Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

romothesavior

Diamond

Re: Illinois/Iowa/Missouri law school opinions

Post by romothesavior » Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:34 pm

tigyrgrl wrote:I am originally from Illinois however I have been a resident of NC for five years. I had been intending to go to law school here in NC, however it appears I may be moving back to the Midwest for my spouse's graduate program. The law schools in downstate Illinois, I knew something about it years ago. I am looking for more current opinions and information on the schools in Missouri, Iowa, Illinois. Thanks.
Where is your spouse going ti be studying? Have you taken the LSAT?

tigyrgrl

New

Post by tigyrgrl » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:25 pm

Last edited by tigyrgrl on Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

romothesavior

Diamond

Post by romothesavior » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:33 pm

tigyrgrl wrote:He is looking at Saint Louis University, University of Iowa, or Southern Illinois University.

No current LSAT score available , however scheduled to take in December. Pre-testing around 174.

I ultimately don't mind living separate from him as we did it throughout our marriage so far. He would rather me at least entertain the idea of selling the house and moving to be in at least the same time zone. Also, I have family ties to both the Northwestern and UIUC area.

I had been looking at UNC and Duke prior to his mentioning of moving.
What is your GPA?
What are your career goals?
Do you plan on staying in the region?

If you are unsure or you are thinking you want to leave the area, then I'd say SLU and SIU are almost certainly out. You need to try and pick a school that will offer at least some geographic flexibility. Those are both very regional schools that focus on local niche markets.