public interest law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
juliap

New

public interest law

Post by juliap » Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:12 am

Any suggestions for prospective law students who aren't in it for high salaries but want to work on social justice issues? I would love to be at a public interest law firm or a non-profit. Specifically, I'm interested in criminal justice policy, drug law reform, and prisoner rights. I graduated from a pretty good school, American University, with a 3.5 gpa, a law & society/philosophy double major, and strong extracurriculars. I haven't done any LSAT prep but I scored 160 on the 2007 demo and I'm sure I could bump it up with practice.

Should I reach for a higher ranked school or should I go for a cheaper school that will give me the JD without the massive debt? I'm thinking about going back to Massachusetts for school, and I see northeastern is into public interest law, but they have a pretty high tuition for grads who are going on to make public interest salaries. I'd love to hear any input from students or JDs who are into public interest law or know people who have tried to go down that path.

bk1

Diamond

Re: public interest law

Post by bk1 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:31 am

A few things:

1. Almost all scholarships in law school are merit based. Hypothetically if you got a 160 and had a 3.5 GPA, you would not be paying full tuition at a school Northeastern.

2. Even if you were to pay full tuition, look into the LRAP programs that top schools offer and the IBR program that is offered by the federal government.

3. Don't trust specialty rankings that say a school is good for PI.

Ti Malice

Gold

Post by Ti Malice » Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:08 am