Disparity between a T3 school and its #1-ranked program

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
OnionKnight

Disparity between a T3 school and its #1-ranked program

Postby OnionKnight » Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:23 pm

So I'm considering Vermont Law for its environmental law program. Vermont Law being a T3-regional is a somewhat daunting prospect, but its environmental law program is absolutely sterling.

Let's say I attend, take the environmental law track, and graduate top of my class. Is my marketability diminished by the fact that I graduated from a T3, or enhanced resulting from the prestigious program?

Makes my head hurt.

Ludo!

Re: Disparity between a T3 school and its #1-ranked program

Postby Ludo! » Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:27 pm

The program is not prestigious. Specialty rankings don't mean anything

superbloom

Postby superbloom » Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:29 pm

Specialty rankings are less than worthless.

Lord Randolph McDuff

Postby Lord Randolph McDuff » Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:29 pm

Only go to Vermont if you want to practice up there and you can afford to attend the law school. Maybe if you went there and hit it off with their environmental professors (which, surely, many annoying gunners try to do) then their vaunted #1 ranking could slightly help you obtain a really low paying academic job. Very, very low chance of this happening though.

If you are thinking D.C. or big firms are going to care about Vermont's environmental ranking you are incorrect. They won't even know about it; you wouldn't even have the chance to awkwardly bring it up because you would never get a interview in the first place. It is that meaningless. Sry.

luckyme

Postby luckyme » Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:30 pm