Georgetown Part-Time Program, Should I Go? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TopTopham

New

Georgetown Part-Time Program, Should I Go?

Post by TopTopham » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:20 pm

Hi all, long-time reader, first-time poster here. Here's my situation.

I'm from the Philadelphia area and would like to stay here permanently, working in private practice and making money (can't be more specific than that at this point). I've been working as a paralegal for a biglaw firm for 4 years and have about 70K saved. My parents have agreed to match the 70K so my tuition is pretty much covered. My numbers are 2.97/170 (there is no way I can improve the 170, so "retake" is inapplicable).

I just got into Georgetown off the WL. But the problem is, the acceptance is for the 4-year evening program. I love the school and checked both the full-time and part-time boxes without thinking much about it. I called them and asked them to switch the acceptance to full-time but they said no way.

Should I go? I didn't really see myself going at night. And I don't have a day job lined up in DC, or any leads on one. And I have to borrow for the living expenses, which could run to 100K or more since it's four years.

On the other hand, I love the school, it's a T14, and I don't like my alternatives (some of the local Phila schools (not Penn) with $$, some splitter schools like Indiana and WUSTL with $$, and GW at sticker).

Should I go? Thanks in advance.

No13baby

Bronze

Re: Georgetown Part-Time Program, Should I Go?

Post by No13baby » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:12 pm

Honestly, if you have Philly ties and want to stay in Philly, I think Drexel/Temple/Villanova (presumably you got into some of these) with $$ is as good an option as any.

TopTopham

New

Post by TopTopham » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:26 pm