Is Columbia still worth it?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
KevinP

Is Columbia still worth it?

Postby KevinP » Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:50 pm

Greetings fellow TLSers,

I'm currently set to attend Columbia, but I've been having second thoughts after reading all the scam blogs and poor employment outcome threads. Although CLS gave me some money, I'll still end up with six-figures of debt. I initially had other law plans, but after seeing debt load, I'm pretty set on NYC biglaw (preference would be tax or IP). All I really want is a decent paying career in law. I'm perfectly fine working crazy hours.

I will be leaving an engineering gig that pays decently. As a result of the connections I made as an engineer, I'll still have a fall back plan that would allow me to live relatively comfortably if I strike out, even with the debt. I'll still be debt-pwned, however.

My question, therefore, is Columbia still worth it for my life goals?

I'm hoping that I'm not making a stupid life decision that will haunt me for the rest of my life. I've done a ton of extensive research, but I would like to hear some fresh opinions. Thank you for your thoughts.

ben4847

Re: Is Columbia still worth it?

Postby ben4847 » Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:55 pm

If you want to be a lawyer, then go. If you don't, then don't. The employment prospects are well worth it.

Law Sauce

Postby Law Sauce » Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:58 pm

No question CLS is worth the money. The scam blogs ought not to scare anyone who is in at CLS, let alone with money and an engineering degree. You are over thinking this, enjoy LS.

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:00 pm

If you're willing to take the law school risk, CLS with an IP background is one of the best situations to be in. So really, the only reason it could be not worth it is too personal for us to advise you on.

Dude, go to Columbia. You'll be fine.

kaiser

Postby kaiser » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:04 pm