To Go or Not To Go?...that is the question

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
RetakeOrBust

To Go or Not To Go?...that is the question

Postby RetakeOrBust » Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:34 pm

Dear TLS-ers,

I have recently graduated from well-known public university from a computer science curriculum. I have had a few prestigious internships in the past but was intending on going to law school straight out of undergrad because I am tired of engineering and have always been interested in becoming a lawyer. Because of this plan, I chose to do an internship this summer (the summer before law school) as opposed to taking a full time offer from a previous job just to get some extra cash and some more work experience. The law school I intend on attending is BC/BU (with a hefty scholarship). I am currently a manager intern at a well-known tech company in Silicon Valley. My internship ends late August; BC/BU starts late August (a week before my end date). If I were to be offered a full-time job here I would be in a relatively high-end position that interests me (as someone who is passionate about technology). The problem is that one word: IF. One could say I am a pioneer in this position; in that no one at my education level has received this internship and so therefore I have no reference as to how likely it is I will receive a full time offer and if I do receive one, how much $$$ I could be making. The internship is paying very well, but I am not sure if it is wise to assume that if I extrapolate that number out to a year's salary, that would be what I would make full-time (since benefits and other things probably need to be accounted for if I were a full time employee). I am not sure if I will find out whether I am in the running for a full-time offer until late August...which will be too late for me to ship my butt off to Boston from California to attend my first week of law school....