Thompson Rivers University (TRU) - Too risky? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Given my situation, should I attend TRU?

Yes, go for it. A JD at TRU is better than no JD at all!
10%
Hard to say. It's really up to you based on your situation.
14%
No, way too risky!
76%

Total votes: 21

Alaska6

New

Thompson Rivers University (TRU) - Too risky?

Post by Alaska6 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:20 pm

This is my first time posting to this forum, but it seems like the best place for this question.

I'm considering applying for admission to Thompson Rivers University (TRU), which is a new Canadian law school opened in 2011. I would be in the third class beginning in 2013.

How risky is it to attend a new law school?

New law schools aren't opened all that often, and I'm afraid that my degree will be largely worthless over time if the school's reputation ends up being less than stellar.

The reasons I'm considering applying at TRU:
1. I grew up in Kamloops, which is where TRU is located, and I loved it there and would love to move back.
2. My dad has an independent law office in Kamloops that after I graduate I could work at and take over when he retires. They mostly do wills and probates.
3. My parents still live in Kamloops and I would have free lodging during school.

Since I'm not looking to take on a position at a top law firm or clerking for any judges, does it really matter what school I go to? Also, It's pretty much this law school or no law school as I can't afford to attend other schools.

My background:
MBA from a US state school, 4.0 GPA - Graduation 2008
BA from US Private school, 3.89 GPA - Graduation 2004
12 years working full-time professional capacities (mostly as an analyst). I am currently a senior manager at a large US financial institution.