Wisconsin or Ohio State - Help!? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TCo2015

New

Wisconsin or Ohio State - Help!?

Post by TCo2015 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:42 pm

Hey all,

I have been accepted and have narrowed my choices down to the Wisconsin Law School and The Ohio State - Mortiz College of Law and am having trouble deciding where to go this Fall. I qualify for in-state tuition at both schools and received enough money from Ohio State to bring the tuition down to just below that of Wisconsin's. I have family in both Wisconsin and Ohio and do not really have a preference as to which state I would prefer to live in following graduation. I graduated from the University of Wisconsin School of Business last May with a degree in Finance, Investments and Banking and hope to practice corporate/securities law. I am not sure if attending law school at the same institution as I did my undergrad is frowned upon in the eyes of prospective employers. Ideally, I would like to get into big law in Chicago but would have no problem living in a smaller city elsewhere in the Midwest. Any help or insight as to which school might have an edge over the other would be greatly appreciated! I have to pay a seat deposit at OSU by Friday if I plan to go there so some timely responses would be great!!

Thanks for your help all!!

rickgrimes69

Silver

Re: Wisconsin or Ohio State - Help!?

Post by rickgrimes69 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:43 pm

If you want to work in securities, you should be targeting NYC, not Chicago. Point's a bit moot though, since neither school will give you a reliable shot at cracking either market.

catholicgirl

Bronze

Post by catholicgirl » Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:49 pm

rickgrimes69 wrote:If you want to work in securities, you should be targeting NYC, not Chicago. Point's a bit moot though, since neither school will give you a reliable shot at cracking either market.