Am I going to get eaten alive at Harvard?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
22under

Am I going to get eaten alive at Harvard?

Postby 22under » Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:15 pm

I'm going to HLS, but am starting to get a little concerned about it. My whole life I've had a halfass work ethic. I was a middling high school student, then banged out a near-perfect SAT score and got into a decent college. My college had insane grade inflation (I believe the average GPA was over 3.5), and I skated by on minimal work, spending way more time playing video games and going after girls than studying, eventually coasting to a 3.7 GPA in an easy major (Actually, if you account for all the hard science kids' low GPAs and their effect on my school's overall average GPA, I bet my GPA was around the average for my department). I decided on law school, studied for the LSAT for a couple months, and then absolutely knocked it out of the park. Then several months ago I was accepted at HLS (I'll be paying sticker).

My understanding is that people don't ever really fail out of the top schools, so I guess that isn't my concern per se (though correct me if I'm mistaken there). But it's obvious to me that I won't be able to skate by now that my peer group will be one of the heaviest concentrations of elite academic talent anywhere in the world. And I definitely have no real delusions that I'm suddenly going to become studious and diligent in the next couple months when my work ethic has been so questionable for my entire life.