Re: UC Hastings or Fordham Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

UC Hastings or Fordham Law

UC Hastings
31%
Fordham Law
69%

Total votes: 26

Bronck

Gold

Re: UC Hastings or Fordham

Post by Bronck » Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:59 pm

I've been accepted and deposited at UC Hastings. Fordham recently took me offered me admissions off their waitlist which I didn't fill, and offered me a tiny amount of scholarship money after stating they didn't have any.

I really don't want to graduate from either of these schools. I want to transfer out to UC Berkeley or GULC. I've already started prepping for law school and will transfer out.

Factors:
1. My boyfriend is in SF (I don't want to spend my 1L trying to make a long distance thing work/be miserable coz we had to break up)
2. I am an international student (undergrad in NY), and have some life experiences if that even matters to law Schools.
3. I am taking a loan from my mother for Law School, so money isn't a real consideration.
4. I want to eventually end up back in New York but I am not opposed to working in the (what people are calling shitty) SF market right now

Questions:
1. Is Berkeley partial to Hastings 1L's for transfers?
2. Are Fordham's employment stats really as good as TLS states?
3. How crucial are these law school rankings while transferring? (Fordham is 29, Hastings is 44)
You shouldn't go into law school expecting to transfer out.... What is your GPA/LSAT? Have you used up all 3 retakes? If not, then retake. It's a lot easier to retake and do well than to perform extremely well in law school. Following from that, you should not go to either school, since you stated that you "really don't want to graduate from either".