William & Mary vs. George Washington

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
BrianFratusz

William & Mary vs. George Washington

Postby BrianFratusz » Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:20 pm

If I graduate William & Mary, I'll graduate with 10k in debt. If I graduate GW, I'll have 80k in debt.

I'm interested in IP and Environmental, and though I graduated MIT, I was a political science major with no complete expertise in a science major.
I'd also much rather live in GW and go to a larger school.

It sounds like GW is more my type, but I'm wondering if the difference in debt is worth it?

Nammertat

Re: William & Mary vs. George Washington

Postby Nammertat » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:32 pm

If your heart is dead set on working in a small firm in Virginia, choose William & Mary.... otherwise GW :D

YES it's worth the extra $$ for someone in IP.

top30man

Postby top30man » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:44 pm

Nammertat wrote:If your heart is dead set on working in a small firm in Virginia, choose William & Mary.... otherwise GW :D

YES it's worth the extra $$ for someone in IP.

Being interested in IP doesn't matter. He doesn't have the right background. I vote W and M.

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:47 pm

Ask both law schools for more money--then decide.

BrianFratusz

Postby BrianFratusz » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:35 pm

I already asked GW for more $. I asked for 30k/yr... they came up with $4k more to make it $24k. My parents are also contributing 20k/yr

I will say that I took 32-36 hours of science/engineering classes at MIT (8-9 classes). These include 2 classes in physics; 3 classes in earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences; 1 class in biology; 1 class in chemistry; 1 class (interdisciplinary) in civil&environmental + mechanical engineering; and one exploratory class in Python programming. I also took a PoliSci class that was entirely learning to program with STATA.

timbs4339

Postby timbs4339 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:07 pm