Questions for Loyola Los Angeles (LMU) JD/MBAs

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
radar714

Questions for Loyola Los Angeles (LMU) JD/MBAs

Postby radar714 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:59 pm

After deciding to give this past cycle a whirl with a disappointing LSAT score (162), I was accepted to only one school: Loyola Law. Loyola was the regional school I had considered (from LA and hope to practice there) and a few weeks after receiving their offer they sent me a very sizeable followup scholarship offer (~75% discount)

Coming into the application process I was very interested in getting a JD/MBA. I graduated with a BA in one of the humanities and have hopes of one day segueing into Business after practicing for a few years, eventually hoping to start my own business. I'm interested in the MBA because I have zero formal business education, incl no knowledge of finance, accounting, operations management, etc.

Now that I have the option of attending Loyola at this discount, I'm wondering if any Loyola JD/MBAs could shed some light on the MBA program at Loyola. I know that it is unranked USNWR, and I know that its admissions statistics are not very high. But I don't want to make a snap judgement on it as I know that in spite of not being ranked very highly, Loyola Law for instance has a strong alumni presence in Los Angeles and that several big law firms do indeed recruit from them. What I'm wondering is if businesses in LA (in fields such as finance, PE, consulting, etc) regard an MBA from Loyola in a similar light.

Questions:
1. Did you have any WE? If so, for how long and in what field?
2. How would you compare your classmates at the MBA program to those at the JD program?
3. Do you feel that there is any disparity between the quality of education you are receiving from Loyola Law and Loyola MBA?
4. What are your professional aspirations with a JD/MBA from Loyola?