Best Entertainment Law School in South East??

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MrCharles

Best Entertainment Law School in South East??

Postby MrCharles » Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:31 pm

Really want to get into the entertainment Law field. Preferably music. I saw where UofMia has a JD/MM in music business program that seemed interesting. But all advice would be welcome. I'm a legal resident of GA but I'm doing undergrad in TN and I would like the practice in either TN, GA, or FL.

Tom Joad

Re: Best Entertainment Law School in South East??

Postby Tom Joad » Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:32 pm

UVA or Duke or Vandy.

2012JayDee

Postby 2012JayDee » Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:45 pm

Steer clear of so called "entertainment law" specialties.
They don't really exist. Entertainment/Sports/Media law is really under the broader umbrella of intellectual property. Most law firms that practice entertainment law have attorneys that specialize in trademarks, copyrights, fair use, right of publicity, defamation (all IP topics) as well as bankruptcy, tax and estate planning, contract negotiation, and wills and trusts.