NU (sticker) vs Alabama ($$$) for IP

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Please read before voting

NU (sticker)
53%
Bama ($$$)
47%

Total votes: 30

bamasplitter

NU (sticker) vs Alabama ($$$) for IP

Postby bamasplitter » Thu May 24, 2012 8:55 pm

So I just got off the WL at Northwestern, which heading into the cycle was my dream school, thanks to its slightly older more work experience oriented student body, it's location in an awesome city, and the fact that I figured it was the T14 most likely to accept my terrible GPA. That being said, the idea of going $250k in debt almost makes me want to run to the bathroom and vomit just thinking about it.

Just a little background, I am from Alabama and have a bachelor's in engineering. I have been working in industry for 4 years, and have decided that I want to get into patent law. I have a full ride (+ a small stipend) at Alabama, and that is where I had been planning on ending up until this afternoon.

Generally I don't care much for these poll questions, but I am torn as to whether I am crazy for considering the added debt load of NU. Or am I crazy for not considering NU given the much higher job prospects and relative lack of IP work in Alabama (and the southeast in general).

CanadianWolf

Re: NU (sticker) vs Alabama ($$$) for IP

Postby CanadianWolf » Thu May 24, 2012 9:00 pm

Ask Nothwestern for scholarship consideration. If none is offered, then Alabama with a full tuition & fees & book allowance scholarship will make your engineering degree shine.

P.S. Just don't visit NU because you may never come back.

bamasplitter

Postby bamasplitter » Thu May 24, 2012 9:51 pm

CanadianWolf wrote:P.S. Just don't visit NU because you may never come back.

I visited NU for my ED interview, which is part of my problem. I want to make sure I make the decision from a strictly career/financial viewpoint rather than just how awesome the school and location are.

CanadianWolf