USC vs UT

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

USC or UT

USC
50%
UT
50%

Total votes: 20

topsch125

USC vs UT

Postby topsch125 » Tue May 15, 2012 12:27 am

Hi Everyone!

I am an international student and can't decide between USC and UT.

Some considerations:
- COA will be similar
- I am interested in IP and Tax law
- I'd like to eventually work in NYC or in the Silicon Valley area (for IP)
- Good internship opportunities and BigLaw are important
- National and international reputation is important

What do you all think?

Thank you.

Bronck

Re: USC vs UT

Postby Bronck » Tue May 15, 2012 5:38 am

Neither school gives you a very good shot at NYC. They are very much regional schools (thus neither has much national or international reputation). I don't know much about placement into SV, but if I had to guess it won't be great from either school because of the previous point.

If you want NY biglaw, then retake and go to a T14.

Doorkeeper

Postby Doorkeeper » Tue May 15, 2012 9:57 am

Bronck wrote:Neither school gives you a very good shot at NYC. They are very much regional schools (thus neither has much national or international reputation). I don't know much about placement into SV, but if I had to guess it won't be great from either school because of the previous point.

I agree with this.

That being said, if you had to pick between these two options, I would go USC here because it gives you better access to SF, has strong regional/national reputation, and Texas without any ties is scary.

Also, do you have a background in any hard sciences for IP stuff? That could make USC less scary of an option.

topsch125

Postby topsch125 » Tue May 15, 2012 5:47 pm

Thanks for your reply.

I have computer science background and some work experience.

Should I consider the economy of the two states? How will this affect job prospects? As everyone knows, Texas is doing well, while California is not.

utlaw2007

Postby utlaw2007 » Mon May 21, 2012 7:48 am