GULG vs. UT vs. WUSTL - International Student

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Unagi

GULG vs. UT vs. WUSTL - International Student

Postby Unagi » Mon May 14, 2012 2:02 pm

Hi everyone!

I was already set on WUSTL, but now I'm considering UT and GULG.
VERY IMPORTANT: I'M AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT WITHOUT A US CO-SIGNER, SO NO LOANS FOR ME!I also cannot get loans in my country because it would be suicidal.

Scholarships:
WUSTL - 129k
UT - resident tuition + 15 k per year (basically 90k total)
GULG - 90k

Goals:
ok job anywhere in the US;
I already work as a lawyer in my country, so I know I like this profession.
No ties to anywhere in the US/ not attracted to big law

I have enough savings to spend 20k per year, which would cover the remaing tuition at WUSTL and pay for COL.
To afford UT or GULG I would need help from my family, and I would prefer not to do this.
I have a good relantionship with my family and they could help me, but this would represent a lot of sacrifice for them, so I'm not very happy with this idea.
How crazy am I to choose WUSTL over these two other options?
And if I give up on WUSTL, should I choose UT or GULG?
UT would be cheaper due to COL. Is GULG much better?

Thanks!!!

roaringeagle

Re: GULG vs. UT vs. WUSTL - International Student

Postby roaringeagle » Mon May 14, 2012 2:10 pm

Go to WUSTL. It's very cheap to live there, the people are really nice, the campus is great, the OCI guy bats hard for you. Plus romo goes there. Explain your financial situation to them, maybe they'll up it to a full tuition scholly.

DISCLAIMER: I got the same offer at WUSTL and accepted. I think I pissed off GTown by not kissing their asses to get in after they "held" me. Who do they think they are, Harvard? I just don't think it is worth sticker. Also I had a shot at both UVA and UChicago.

chipchip

Postby chipchip » Mon May 14, 2012 3:17 pm