UMN vs WUSTL (need urgent help)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
louis315

UMN vs WUSTL (need urgent help)

Postby louis315 » Wed May 09, 2012 1:02 am

Hello All, :D
I am an international student interested in pursuing General LLM degree. I recently have been accepted into both schools. I know they are totally different geographically and climate wise. I don't mind the cold or humid. In addition, money is not an issue. which i should i go. my concerns: 1. JD program quality (if i do well in LLM, i plan to transfer to JD program at the same school) 2. JD job perspective ( i am aiming for small or med size firms) 3. minneapolis vs st louis (which city is more vibrant? safer?)

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

Nova

Re: UMN vs WUSTL (need urgent help)

Postby Nova » Wed May 09, 2012 1:24 am

They are peer schools. Very similar in job prospects and quality. Both of which are good, since you are not big law or bust. Go to lawschooltransperancy.com to see detailed employment data from the class of 2010.

City wise, IMO, Mpls > STL. Mpls is a very safe, clean, place to live. STL is not bad or anything though.

Either way, both schools have legit JD programs.

soccerfreak

Postby soccerfreak » Wed May 09, 2012 3:06 am

Visit if you can, to get a feel for the campuses and the cities.

I love St. Louis, but it seems like I have heard that Minneapolis is one of the best cities for young professionals or something like that, so it's probably nicer. It also gets really cold, so you may want to take that into account.

For the mid-law market, both are probably pretty similar. I think it just comes down to fit...which means visit if at all possible.

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Wed May 09, 2012 10:01 am

WashUStL just announced their on-line LLM program for foreign lawyers so this thread may be designed to make others aware of that new venture.

If not a WashUStL plug, then these schools are equals with different locations.

Unagi