South Texas College of Law or Ole Miss? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
labf

New

South Texas College of Law or Ole Miss?

Post by labf » Mon May 07, 2012 3:29 pm

Hi,

I am an international student from Canada. I need to get out of here. I have the choice of South Texas College of Law or University of Mississippi.

I visited both schools. I love Houston. Oxford MS seems ok. UMIss' Law facilities are amazing. South TX is pretty good.

Tuition is about the same. Ole Miss is cheaper. I do not know whether I can get residency status even as a non-immigrant on a student (F1) visa. With that, tuition at Ole Miss would be below half of South Texas.

I like Mississippi but I like Texas way more. I want to live in a city but I'm willing to trade that off if my job prospects from Ole Miss are better. I'm more concerned about finding some decent work. Not TopLaw, but a clerkship, respectable work in a decent city. A public defender or something. Any thoughts? Am I even being descriptive/useful enough? Thanks a lot.

stillwater

Gold

Re: South Texas College of Law or Ole Miss?

Post by stillwater » Mon May 07, 2012 3:38 pm

Mississippi is a pretty insular place and as a complete outsider you may have a tough time translating that degree into bankable employment. South Texas is also pretty far down the ladder in Texas. So overall prospects for quality employment are dim. What are your career goals?

Paul Campos

Silver

Post by Paul Campos » Mon May 07, 2012 3:39 pm

labf wrote:Hi,

I am an international student from Canada. I need to get out of here. I have the choice of South Texas College of Law or University of Mississippi.

I visited both schools. I love Houston. Oxford MS seems ok. UMIss' Law facilities are amazing. South TX is pretty good.