UMN vs. Rutgers-Newark

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ru2486

UMN vs. Rutgers-Newark

Postby ru2486 » Fri May 04, 2012 4:27 am

This might be a no-brainer, but maybe it's not...

Minnesota with $27,000/scholarship out of $46,000/tuition

or

Rutgers-Newark with $15,000/scholarship out of $23,000/tuition

I'd like to end up back on the east coast, but I also have potential biglaw/academia interests.

cinephile

Re: UMN vs. Rutgers-Newark

Postby cinephile » Fri May 04, 2012 8:16 am

Well, you're not going to get academia out of UMN. You probably won't be getting biglaw from Minnesota either.

So, Rutgers seems like the best choice.

dingbat

Postby dingbat » Fri May 04, 2012 8:28 am

Rutgers is cheaper and (arguably) places better on the east coast

Easy-E

Postby Easy-E » Fri May 04, 2012 9:15 am

East coast you say? I'm no cartographer, but I'd say Rutgers is the bet. If you don't mind me asking, what numbers got you 15k from them? I'm an NJ resident, so I'm always keeping Rutgers in mind (if I could grab some big $$$).

ru2486

Postby ru2486 » Fri May 04, 2012 9:51 am

hey guys, thanks for the responses thus far!

i'm a bit embarrassed to say i thought the no-brainer was in the other direction, i.e. minnesota. i think i may have overstated my geographical preference (i've heard very, very nice things about twin cities). other than that, let's keep the opinions rolling in!

tls has been a goldmine of information and advice, thanks everybody.

Doorkeeper

Postby Doorkeeper » Fri May 04, 2012 10:04 am

How can the choice be between Minnesota and Rutgers? Did you not get in anywhere on the East Coast in between?

BobbyDylan

Postby BobbyDylan » Fri May 04, 2012 10:17 am

Rutgers makes more sense than just about every other NYC area school, if you can't get a decent scholarship from Fordham or better.

Go to Rutgers.