When is UCLA better than Penn? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Penn or UCLA?

Penn (45k scholarship)
66%
UCLA (75k scholarship)
34%

Total votes: 95

Gemini198

New

When is UCLA better than Penn?

Post by Gemini198 » Thu May 03, 2012 2:06 am

Earlier in my decision making process, I posted about other schools but my final two have come down to UCLA (75k scholarship) and Penn (45k scholarship). I'm from CA, went to UCLA for undergrad and want to practice here after law school. I work as a journalist, and want to maintain ties to the industry, so I'm thinking media/entertainment law. I've sent deposits to both schools, and was completely honest about it with both. They said their okay with it, but I think it's about time I pick on.

In addition to giving me 30k more in scholarship, UCLA's tuition will be about 8k less per year because I'm in state. That makes UCLA about 54k cheaper than Penn right now. At what point does UCLA's financial offer trump Penn (if ever)? Is a 54k difference too little to turn down Penn for? UCLA has already increased my scholarship twice, so I don't think they will again. Penn (for now) says an increase isn't possible.

I keep going back and forth between the schools. I think Penn is a fantastic school, but I'm not too crazy about Philly or the increased debt. UCLA is cheaper, allows me to build CA ties, but not as strong in terms of reputation...so as you can see, I'm basically torn.

Thanks in advance for the help!

JasonR

Bronze

Re: When is UCLA better than Penn?

Post by JasonR » Thu May 03, 2012 2:19 am

Gemini198 wrote:At what point does UCLA's financial offer trump Penn (if ever)? Is a 54k difference too little to turn down Penn for?
It would definitely take more than a $54K difference for me to take UCLA over Penn -- a lot more.

bceagles182

Silver

Post by bceagles182 » Thu May 03, 2012 2:31 am

JasonR wrote: