Is SHU the best school to find a health law career in NJ?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
YControl

Is SHU the best school to find a health law career in NJ?

Postby YControl » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:41 am

Hi. I've just been tossing this idea around in my head. I'm interested in transferring to Seton Hall law school. I'm currently a law student at a top 50 school in another region focusing on health law, but I'm rethinking where I want to settle down and develop a professional network. I'm a NJ native, went to undergrad here, and I would love to work for a hospital or health care organization in the state. I was accepted into the school when I was first applying to law schools and offered a substantial scholarship. I completed my first year but had to request a leave of absence this year for personal reasons, so the idea of transferring doesn't seem that intimidating to me.

I searched Seton Hall Law on TLS and I know there are few commenters who particularly dislike this school, so I understand what I'm walking into by asking a question about this school lol! Thank you in advance for any advice.

Wholigan

Re: Is SHU the best school to find a health law career in NJ?

Postby Wholigan » Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:54 am

If you transfer, you'll be paying sticker. SH is one of the most expensive non-T14s out there at $45k/year. There's no way that's even close to worth it. I don't know that transferring to R/N is a great idea either, but SH is absolutely not worth $40k more, because that extra $40k to SH is not going to buy you any extra job prospects.

YControl

Postby YControl » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:12 pm

Thanx for your response. Why do you think it's not worth transferring to Rutgers Newark?