NPV of law school?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
NPVLaw

NPV of law school?

Postby NPVLaw » Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:54 pm

Hello all,

I am an active duty military member looking for a career change, and I have been planning on going to law school. I have been slogging out an MBA from Oklahoma State, which I will have completed in the summer before I attend law school.

Here is my question:
I am trying to create a model to evaluate the net present value of attending law school.
Here are my inputs:

LSAT score
GPA
(non-qauntifiable input: I am a veteran with two tours: OEF/OIF, + short tour in Africa, overseas Germany etc)

Using the above data I select a range of schools I might attend, examine their costs (tuition and living expenses), and subtract these from the potential income stream graduating from that school (average 1st year salary). I then add in GI Bill benefits, yellow ribbon, etc.
This give me my NPV for law school, exclusive of opp. costs.

For opportunity costs, I take the medain salary of an OSU Spears School of Business MBA grad (60k). I then compare Law school with an MBA career.

I am not using any sort of a discount rate right now.

Disclaimers:
-I realize recently some of the data law schools have been providing regarding income streams and employment have come under scrutiny.
-I realize this model is crude. Does anyone else have a better idea?
-I realize I am excluding job satisfaction/stress of different tracks with this model. For me, I am satisfied with my job if:
a. I can sleep next to my family most nights.
b. When I go to work, no one tries to kill me.
c. All business trips must exclude hostile fire areas and combat zones (see b.)

Thank you for any advice others may have.

-Matthew

Paul Campos

Re: NPV of law school?

Postby Paul Campos » Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:05 pm

NPVLaw wrote:Hello all,