Going to a CBA v. ABA accredited law school?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
chrisradd

Going to a CBA v. ABA accredited law school?

Postby chrisradd » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:30 am

A little background one me: I graduated with a Business Marketing degree from a Cal State school & currently work in Internet Marketing. My plans are to attend GUCL part-time, which I will probably not pull a loan out, and continue to work full-time. Is there benefit for me to do this, even though I might not end up actually practicing.

So I have a specific question in mind: Is it worth spending the money to attend a non-ABA school if you plan to be a non-practicing lawyer? I often hear this mentality of in business you need to think like a lawyer talk.

I have also considered going to Loyola's part-time program, but it would cost 130k over 4yrs opposed to 50k at GUCL. I have also considered an MBA, but feel with my GMAT scores/ungd GPA I would not be able to get into USC or UCLA & feel the money wouldn't be effective at Pepperdine.

I primarily want to go to law school for the issue spoting, problem solving, and logical/analytical skills. If there is any other graduate degree you might suggest I pursue, please comment.

bigeast03

Re: Going to a CBA v. ABA accredited law school?

Postby bigeast03 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:37 am

chrisradd wrote:A little background one me: I graduated with a Business Marketing degree from a Cal State school & currently work in Internet Marketing. My plans are to attend GUCL part-time, which I will probably not pull a loan out, and continue to work full-time. Is there benefit for me to do this, even though I might not end up actually practicing.

So I have a specific question in mind: Is it worth spending the money to attend a non-ABA school if you plan to be a non-practicing lawyer? I often hear this mentality of in business you need to think like a lawyer talk.