Family law/ adoption law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
kbf239

New

Family law/ adoption law

Post by kbf239 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:22 pm

6 months ago I decided to pursue a JD instead of getting a MSW. I want to work in the field of adoption, and have some experience working in domestic private agencies and at an adoption institute. I go to NYU and I am majoring in Politics with a minor in Social Work. I have a strong GPA, and will be taking the LSAT in June. I am not the best test taker, uncertain what I will score due to nerves, but probably somewhere in between 157 to 162.
I will be applying to schools over the summer, depending on how well I do on the LSAT.
I am in need of some advice on what sort of mindset to have when looking at schools. Should I be looking at the best schools (dream would be UT Austin, however, this my LSAT score may not be up to par) or if a school that is mediocre in a somewhat populous area where I could get a decent internship where I would like to practice. Although I am good student, I would prefer not to go to a highly competitive school. However, I understand when it comes to getting a decent job, it may be difficult securing one in a less prestigious school.
If anyone has experience or insight into family law, I would greatly appreciate it!

cinephile

Gold

Re: Family law/ adoption law

Post by cinephile » Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:35 pm

If you're going to be pursuing a lower-paying type job (not that all family law is lower-paying, but on average . . . ) you'd want to be taking on as little debt as possible.

dingbat

Gold

Post by dingbat » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:00 pm

cinephile wrote:If you're going to be pursuing a lower-paying type job (not that all family law is lower-paying, but on average . . . ) you'd want to be taking on as little debt as possible.
TITCR
Take a prep course, take the LSAT (maybe surprise yourself?), then look at schools in the region where you want to live and hope for a big scholly.