GPA Stips for Merit $$ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
FastLife

New

GPA Stips for Merit $$

Post by FastLife » Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:34 pm

How concerned should I be about a 3.0 gpa stip at GW? I am a motivated student and I believe I can be in the top 10-15% of my class, or at the very least get above a 3.0, but doesn't almost every 0L go into law school with that mindset? You get a few B-'s your first term and then BOOM. You lose your scholarship and are completely screwed with a ton of debt that you did not account for.

In comparison, the GPA stip at Minnesota is 2.5, and at Notre Dame it is just "good standing". Unfortunately I don't want to work in Minnesota and I am from Portland, OR, so I have no ties to a big legal market where I can use ND's lay prestige to get me a good job. I'd be dependent on OCI and networking when I'm there.

Br3v

Gold

Re: GPA Stips for Merit $$

Post by Br3v » Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:02 pm

FastLife wrote:How concerned should I be about a 3.0 gpa stip at GW? I am a motivated student and I believe I can be in the top 10-15% of my class, or at the very least get above a 3.0, but doesn't almost every 0L go into law school with that mindset? You get a few B-'s your first term and then BOOM. You lose your scholarship and are completely screwed with a ton of debt that you did not account for.

In comparison, the GPA stip at Minnesota is 2.5, and at Notre Dame it is just "good standing". Unfortunately I don't want to work in Minnesota and I am from Portland, OR, so I have no ties to a big legal market where I can use ND's lay prestige to get me a good job. I'd be dependent on OCI and networking when I'm there.
Well I would try to lower the stips. (maybe 2.5, at least 2.75 would be nice)
But whenever I see threads about stips I tend to think if you drop below them you'll have bigger problems to worry about but multiplying that with loss of $ certainly doesn't help.