Patent Law - Emory vs UNC vs Boston College Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dandoe123

New

Patent Law - Emory vs UNC vs Boston College

Post by dandoe123 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:18 pm

I'm not sure what COA would be at Boston College or UNC at this time, but in regards to job prospects as a patent attorney (more likely prosecution than litigation), anyone know if one school is better than the others?

I know Boston is a major biotech hub, but I'm wondering what the competition will be like considering there are so many solid law schools in the area. I'm also not too excited about the cost of living and the brutal winters.

I like UNC a lot - lack of rush hour traffic, cheap cost of living, wife works at Duke. I know there are many good research institutions in the area (UNC, Duke, RTP, etc.), but I'm wondering how the job prospects rank compare to other bigger cities.

I got my PhD from Emory and do like the area. But with all the "negative" comments regarding Emory and the Atlanta legal market, I'm a bit worried... although I think Emory might give me much more flexibility in regards to where I can practice after graduation.

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice/comments.

stratocophic

Gold

Re: Patent Law - Emory vs UNC vs Boston College

Post by stratocophic » Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:33 pm

dandoe123 wrote:I'm not sure what COA would be at Boston College or UNC at this time, but in regards to job prospects as a patent attorney (more likely prosecution than litigation), anyone know if one school is better than the others?

I know Boston is a major biotech hub, but I'm wondering what the competition will be like considering there are so many solid law schools in the area. I'm also not too excited about the cost of living and the brutal winters.