Worth it to go to Law School? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
eshinabarger

New

Worth it to go to Law School?

Post by eshinabarger » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:14 am

Here is my situation...I have an undergrad in Poly Sci, and graduated in 2009. I worked on Cap. Hill for a year and for a non-profit the other two. I have interest in public sector or labor law, and am considering law school. I graduated with a 3.31 gpa and got a 168 on the LSAT. I applied to George Mason, George Washington, Loyola Chicago, Chicago Kent, Depaul, IU-Indy, and OSU, but haven't made a decision yet. Through scholarships and savings, I'll be able to walk away from school with 0 debt.

After reading all the doom and gloom on the internet about law school, I would love some feedback. Anyone in a similar situation? Any advice? Any thoughts on the schools listed above?

llachans

Silver

Re: Worth it to go to Law School?

Post by llachans » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:23 am

Where do you want to work after law school? Generally, if you have another route to reach your professional goals, I would say don't go to law school (aside from getting into a top school). Another obvious obstacle is debt. You say you could graduate without any, which makes that a non-issue.
Last edited by llachans on Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

bdole2

Bronze

Post by bdole2 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:23 am

Where do you want to practice? Those schools are all very regional. With your numbers you could definitely get into some better schools if you apply early next cycle. It sounds like you have an interest in Chicago, with your stats you could get UIUC at least. Also consider retaking the LSAT if you are taking a year off anyways.

eshinabarger

New

Post by eshinabarger » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:31 am