Washburn Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
washburndude

Washburn Law

Postby washburndude » Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:28 am

I am a Kansas resident, I intend to practice here when I graduate. Someone please tell me anything and everything you know about this school including quality of education, overall reputation, and -this sort of goes without saying- JOB PROSPECTS.

I look forward to any responses for or against.

*I initially posted this in the wrong forum-sorry!

JasonR

Re: Washburn Law

Postby JasonR » Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:00 am

Probably places OK in Topeka and Kansas in general, though KU will do better. It's a 3rd-tier (almost 4th-tier) school, so no job prospects outside of KS. If you can't get a nice scholarship package, it's not worth the debt.

What's your LSAT/GPA? Are you a URM?

AshC1013

Postby AshC1013 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:44 am

As a student of Washburn right now, I can say that I have had really good resources and connections available for finding work in Kansas. I was hired at a local Topeka firm for my entire 2L year, and a lot of my friends are busy clerking with local judges, Federal judges, working at Government legal departments, etc. I'm planning to return back to Kansas City and have accepted an internship in the Kansas City area for my 3L year.

It's been my experience that just as many law students apply from different area schools, but just as many Washburn students are hired as other law schools. It just depends on your personal achievements and merits, not the name of a particular school over another. Washburn is also wonderful about scholarships and financial aid, so if you're able to reduce your debt that way then you're really helping yourself in the long run by avoiding further loans.

noleknight16

Postby noleknight16 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:23 pm

Is it Washburn at full price or do you have scholarships? What about KU?

Postby 2014 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:47 pm