WUStL vs NUSL

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
solenoid

WUStL vs NUSL

Postby solenoid » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:30 pm

Admitted to WUStL w/ $24,000/yr and to NUSL w/ $10,000/yr. I got my BA (Biology) from WUStL (and I'm getting my MS from UAB in May). I'd like to do patent law, ideally in Boston, but definitely on the Northeast coast. My thought process so far: WUStL is a higher ranked school offering me more money in a city with a lower cost of living (and I loved my four years there). NUSL isn't as highly ranked and would end up costing more, but is in the city where I want to practice, and the co-op program really excites me (as a scientist, I dig hands-on). I'm quite torn. Advice?

bdole2

Re: WUStL vs NUSL

Postby bdole2 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:32 pm

What's a NUSL?

No BU/BC?

Postby 2014 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:35 pm

Guessing Northeastern.

Why no BU/BC is a valid question and if you are sold on Boston you probably should hold off a year and apply to them.

solenoid

Postby solenoid » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:49 pm

Yes, NUSL == Northeastern. Waiting to hear back from BC and BU (also Harvard, Columbia, and Penn [double legacy, if they care]). If I don't get in this round, there really isn't anything I can do to improve my chances (low undergrad GPA (3.2), high grad school GPA (3.9), 170 LSAT), so reapplying ins't an option. If I get into BC, BU, or an Ivy, I'll likely end up there, but having not heard back yet, I'm making contingency plans.

romothesavior

Postby romothesavior » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:52 pm

If these are your only two options, WUSTL easily. But I would wait and see what BU/BC give you in terms of scholarships (both risky at sticker). You also could ED to UVA for your best biglaw chances. But with your IP background and solid scholarship from WUSTL, I think it would be a fine choice as well. How do you feel about ending up in the Midwest long-term if the east coast doesn't work out?